Change the world

Postgraduate & Mature Students

Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University has 29 research entities of varying sizes and disciplines. Listed below are the names of all the research entities with the names of the entity leader and their contact information. Please note this is a static list that will be updated from time-to-time. The entities are listed as name, acronym, leader, faculty, contact number and email address.

INSTITUTES IN FACULTIES

InnoVenton: Institute for Chemical Technology and Downstream Chemical Technology Station and its sub-entities
InnoVenton/DCTS
Prof B Zeelie
Science
041 504 3281
Ben.Zeelie@nmmu.ac.za


CENTRES IN FACULTIES

Built Environment Research Centre
BERC
Prof W Shakantu
EBEIT
041 504 2394
Winston.Shakantu@nmmu.ac.za

 

Centre for Community Technologies
CCT
Prof D van Greunen
EBEIT
041 504 2090
Darelle.vanGreunen@nmmu.ac.za

 

Centre for Research in Information and Cyber Security
CRICS
Prof R von Solms
EBEIT
041 504 3604
Rossouw.VonSolms@nmmu.ac.za

 

Centre for African Conservation Ecology
ACE
Prof Graham Kerley
Science
041 504 2308
Graham.Kerley@nmmu.ac.za

 

Centre for Energy Research
CER
Prof Ernest van Dyk
Science
041 504 2259
Ernest.vanDyk@nmmu.ac.za

 

Centre for High Resolution Transmission Electronic Microscopy
HRTEM
Prof J Neethling
Science
041 504 2143
Jan.Neethling@nmmu.ac.za

 

Centre of Expertise in Forecasting
CEF
Prof I Litvine
Science
041 504 2764
Igor.Litvine@nmmu.ac.za

 

NMMU- REDISA Centre for Rubber Science and Technology
CRST
Prof P Hlangothi
Science
041 504 2437
Percy.Hlangothi@nmmu.ac.za

 

Telkom Centre of Excellence
CoE
Prof Janet Wesson
Science
041 504 2323
Janet.Wesson@nmmu.ac.za

 

Centre for Coastal Palaeoscience
CCP
Prof R Cowling
Science
041 504 2397
Richard.Cowling@nmmu.ac.za

 

Centre for Broadband Communication
CBC
Prof T Gibbon
Science
041 504 2141
Tim.Gibbon@nmmu.ac.za

 

UNITS IN FACULTIES

 

Family Business Unit
FBU
Dr E Venter
Business & Economic Sciences
041 504 2204
Elmarie.Venter@nmmu.ac.za

 

Unit for Positive Organisations
UPO
Dr J Schoeman
Business & Economic Sciences
041 504 2360
Johan.Schoeman@nmmu.ac.za

 

Unit for Applied Management Sciences
UAMS
Prof Elroy Smith
Business & Economic Sciences
041 504 2033
Elroy.Smith@nmmu.ac.za

 

Unit for Economic Development and Tourism
UFEDT
Prof RJ Haines
Business & Economic Sciences
041 504 2729
Richard.Haines@nmmu.ac.za

 

Friction Processing Research Unit
FPRU
Prof DG Hattingh
EBEIT
041 504 3608
Danie.Hattingh@nmmu.ac.za

 

Research and outreach Unit for Technology Education
RoUTE
Dr H Lombard
EBEIT
041 504 3277
Hannalie.Lombard@nmmu.ac.za

 

Action Research Unit
ARU
Dr Mathabo Khau
Education
041 504 4861
Mathabo.Khau@nmmu.ac.za
 

SMATE
Dr Andre du Plessis
Education
041 504 4033
Andre.DuPlessis@nmmu.ac.za

 

Unit for Visual Methodologies for Social Change
UVMSC
Prof N de Lange
Education
041 504 4519
Naydene.deLange@nmmu.ac.za

 

Drug Utilisation Research Unit
DURU
Prof Ilse Truter
Health Sciences
041 504 2131
Ilse.Truter@nmmu.ac.za

 

Sustainability Research Unit
SRU
Prof Christo Fabricius
Science
044 801 5121
Christo.Fabricius@nmmu.ac.za

 

ENTITIES REPORTING TO THE DVC: RESEARCH AND ENGAGEMENT - University based

 

HIV& AIDS Research Unit
HARU
Dr Rosemary Kalenga
041 504 2344
Rosemary.Kalenga@nmmu.ac.za

 

Unit for Higher Education Internationalisation in the Developing World
UHEIDW
Dr Nico Jooste
041 504 2161
Nico.Jooste@nmmu.ac.za

 

Centre for the Advancement of Non-Racialism and Democracy
CANRAD
Mr Allan Zinn
041 504 4616
Allan.Zinn@nmmu.ac.za

 

AEON - Earth Stewardship Research Institute
ESSRI
Prof Maarten de Wit and Dr Moctar Doucoure
041 504 4611
Moctar.Doucoure@nmmu.ac.za

 

Global Leadership Institute for Sustainable Futures
GLI
Prof Q Johnson
044 801 5001
Quinton.Johnson@nmmu.ac.za

 

Institute for Coastal and Marine Research
ICMR
Prof Anton McLachlan
041 504 2721
Anton.McLachan@nmmu.ac.za

Contact Information
Mr Kevan Johnson
Mr Kevan Johnson
Position: Senior Manager
Department: Research Management
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4537
Fax: 27 41 504 9490
Email: kevan.johnson@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BA, HDE (UWC)
Expertise: Research Management Administration